top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura

Amazon Original Stories

Back when reading was the main source of people entertainment books were published in small sections released overtime similar to the episodes in a TV show, more recently people are reading large books all at once, however this episodic format still exists today.


Many readers an authors flock to Wattpad in order to read or write books in a serial or episodic format, however these books are often written by young amateur writers without much experience and can be quite, well... bad.


Amazon has released a new collection of books and stories that it calls Amazon Original Stories. Amazon is aiming to release a plethora of stories that any reader can start and finish in one sitting. I have found that most books in the collection take about 30-40 minutes and are very good.


Recently I read "Everything My Mother Taught Me" and "The Best Girls", both were deeply touching and intimate stories that I was able to finish in about 30 minutes. I enjoy waking up in the morning, starting the stories, and being done. Traditionally it takes me anywhere from 3-10 reading sessions to finish a book and like many people I often feel overwhelmed, but when I finish one story in the morning I often am able to find more motivation for the longer more traditional books on my list.


Everything My Mother Taught Me is a touching book on the broken relationship between a narcissistic mother and her young, mute by choice, daughter. The book shows the intricacies of familial relationships as well as the damage children receive from parents who don't care much about them.


The Best Girls is a deeply moving story about a traditional Asian family. The main character is the oldest sibling in the household. The story explores the damage sexism causes young girls to experience and endure. The author also explores the inner psyche of a child who feels as though they do not matter and are expendable.


The best part about Amazon Original Stories? They are free with Prime and Kindle Unlimited.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Going Forward

Recently I have had all sorts of projects going on, and none of them have been connected in any way and it has made prioritizing what to put energy into incredibly hard. Project 1. The Bookish Club Bl

bottom of page